Fehlfarben is a German post-punk band from DüsseldorfGermany. The band name is from a German printing term referring to erroneous colors in prints: singer Peter Hein was in this line of work at Xerox while in the band. Its founding members were Peter Hein (vocals), former Mittagspause ("lunch break"), Thomas Schwebel(guitar, former MittagspauseS.Y.P.H.), Michael Kemner (bass, former 20 Colors, Mau Mau, DAF, YOU), Frank Fenstermacher (saxophone, later Der Plan), Markus Oehlen and Uwe Bauer (drums, former Mittagspause, Materialschlacht).

Band history[edit source | editbeta]Edit

Fehlfarben was formed in 1979 out of members of Mittagspause and other musicians from the Düsseldorf punk scene. Initially moving away from the Clash and Wire influenced punk of Mittagspause to experiment with ska, Fehlfarben settled into a sound perhaps most comparable to their English contemporaries Gang of Four. Signing a contract with the German subsidiary of EMI lost them their status as an underground band, but in 1980 they released their debut, Monarchie und Alltag(Monarchy and everyday life), an album recognized then and now as one of the most important German-language rock records. Despite its cultural impact, Monarchie und Alltag did not reach gold status in Germany until 2000.

The single "Ein Jahr (Es geht voran)" ("One Year (It's moving onward)") from Monarchie und Alltag, which would be their only hit single, was in fact disliked by the band members themselves, who had initially produced its slick disco groove more in jest than seriousness.

Shortly after having released their debut album, Fehlfarben suffered the departure of lead singer Peter Hein owing to his frustration at the follow-up tour's being lengthened from three to six weeks on short notice. He went back to his day job at Xerox, where he worked until 2003. The band released two more albums without Hein during the 1980s, 33 Tage in Ketten (33 days in chains) and Glut und Asche (Blaze and ashes), with only the latter making it onto the German charts. After struggles with their label, they disbanded at the end of 1984.

The first comeback with all the original members took place in 1990s; it saw (to mixed reviews) the release of two LPs: Die Platte des himmlischen Friedens (The record of heavenly peace) and Popmusik und Hundezucht (Pop music and dog breeding).

In 2002, the band launched another comeback behind the album Knietief im Dispo (Knee deep in the overdraft loan). The album coincided with a general revival of interest in the early days of German Punk and New Wave.

Discography[edit source | editbeta]Edit

Studio albums[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • Monarchie und Alltag (1980)
  • 33 Tage in Ketten (1981)
  • Glut und Asche (1983)
  • Die Platte des Himmlischen Friedens (1991)
  • Live (1993)
  • Popmusik und Hundezucht (1995, recorded 1984)
  • Knietief im Dispo (2002)
  • 26½ (2006)
  • Handbuch für die Welt (2007)
  • Glücksmaschinen (2010)
  • Xenophonie (2012

Singles[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • Große Liebe - Maxi/Abenteuer & Freiheit (1980)
  • Das Wort Ist Draussen/Wie Bitte Was?! (1981)
  • Ein Jahr (Es Geht Voran) (1982)
  • 14 Tage (1982)
  • Untitled (1982)
  • Agenten In Raucherkinos (1983)
  • Tag Und Nacht (1983)
  • 'Magnificent Obsession (1983)
  • Keine Ruhige Minute/Der Himmel Weint (1985)
  • Ein Jahr (Es Geht Voran) (Remix) (1990)
  • In Zeiten Wie Diesen (1991)
  • Es War Vor Jahren/Das Sind Die Leute (1991)
  • In Zeiten Wie Diesen (1991)
  • Club Der Schönen Mütter (2002)
  • Alkoholen (2003)
  • Der Chef/Das War Vor Jahren (Live) (2003) - with Rockformation Diskokugel
  • Wir Warten (2010)
  • Wir Warten (Ihr Habt Die Uhr, Wir Die Zeit) (2010)
  • Platz Da!! (2012)

Compilations[edit source | editbeta]Edit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.