LiLiPUT were a Swiss female post-punk band active from 1978 to 1983, initially known as Kleenex.

History[edit source | editbeta]Edit

The group formed in Geneva in 1978 under the name Kleenex, with a line-up of Regula Sing (born Ramona Carlier, vocals), Marlene Marder (guitar), Klaudia Schiff (bass, vocals), and Lislot Ha (drums).[1] After releasing an EP in Switzerland, the band were signed by Rough Trade Records and released their debut single "Ain't You" in November 1978.[1] In early 1979, Sing joined the Mo-dettes, and was replaced by Chrigle Freund.[1] Second single "You" was their last under the Kleenex name as the threat of legal action by Kimberly-Clark in 1979 prompted a change of name to LiLiPUT (Kleenex being a proprietary brand in Switzerland). The band released two further singles, both of which were hits on the UK Indie Chart, before releasing their first, self-titled album in 1982.[1]

A second album, Some Songs, was released in December 1983, by which time the band had split up.[1]

In 1993, Swiss label Off Course Records released a 46-track double-disc CD collecting Kleenex/LiLiPUT's 1978-83 releases.[1] In 2001 it was re-issued in the USA by the Kill Rock Stars label.

In 2010, Kill Rock Stars released a 24-track CD/DVD set Live Recordings, TV-Clips, and Roadmovie.

Band member chronology[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • 1978: Rudolph Dietrich, Gogi, Klaudia Schiff, Lislot Ha, Regula Sing
  • 1978-1979: Marlene Marder, Klaudia Schiff, Lislot Ha, Regula Sing
  • 1979-1980: Marlene Marder, Klaudia Schiff, Lislot Ha, Chrigle Freund, Angie Barrack
  • 1981: Marlene Marder, Klaudia Schiff, Chrigle Freund
  • 1981-1982: Marlene Marder, Klaudia Schiff, Astrid Spirit, Beat Schlatter, Christoph Herzog
  • 1982-1983: Marlene Marder, Klaudia Schiff, Astrid Spirit

Style[edit source | editbeta]Edit

LiLiPUT's exuberant sound combined spirited thrashy post-punk with unconventional vocals and lyrics, both in English and German. Their music featured husky or squealing female vocals, ramshackle drums, scratchy and twanging guitar, thick funky bass, saxophone and occasionally flute, violin, or other instruments. The cut-up surreality of their lyrics and energetic sound put them in a league with bands like The Raincoats (frequent tour partners), Delta 5The SlitsEssential Logic and Bush Tetras. The band's sound developed throughout their career, due in part to line-up changes; the earlier recordings are more noisy and energetic, while the later songs are more complex and haunting.

Discography[edit source | editbeta]Edit

Singles[edit source | editbeta]Edit

as Kleenex
  • "Ain't You" / "Hedi's Head" (1978), Rough Trade
  • "You" (Friendly Side)/"Ü" (Angry Side) (1979), Rough Trade
as LiLiPUT
  • "Eisiger Wind" / "When The Cat's Away Then The Mice Will Play" (1980), Off Course - reissued (1981), Rough Trade - UK Indie No. 17[2]
  • "Die Matrosen" / "Split" (1980), Rough Trade - UK Indie No. 31[2]
  • "The Jatz" / "You Did It" (1983), Rough Trade

EPs[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • Kleenex (1978), Sunrise

Albums[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • Liliput (1982), Rough Trade
  • Some Songs (1983), Rough Trade
  • LiLiPUT (1993), Off Course (compilation)
  • Live Recordings, TV-Clips, and Roadmovie CD/DVD (2010), Kill Rock Stars

Video[edit source | editbeta]Edit

  • Live Recordings, TV-Clips, and Roadmovie CD/DVD, 2010
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.